FreeRTOS-MPU and Functional Safety

Hello everyone,

I am contacting you to know your experience regarding Functional Safety - IEC13849 and IEC 61508 - certification using FreeRTOS as RTOS.

I’ve been using FreeRTOS for many years and I’m taking my first steps in FreeRTOS MPU porting (Cortex-M4). The goal is to use FreeRTOS supported by hardware memory protection in a product to be certified for functional safety (PLd and SIL2).

In the past, I had already written a firmware certified as PLd and SIL2, but in bare-metal mode (NO RTOS).

In the new release (v11) of FreeRTOS kernel is released with a MISRA compliance file [MISRA C:2012], but (for my experience) a certification authority usually needs more analysis (coverage analysis, documentation, etc.) to certify a software – or part of it - in a functional safety context.

Does anyone have experience with this? Was it complex to certify the FreeRTOS kernel for functional safety purposes?

Thanks in advance.

Ps: I know there is SafeRTOS, but - besides cost reasons - I’d like to understand if FreeRTOS can be used in a functional safety product.

I’m going to give the unhelpful engineer’s answer: “It depends”. System’s are certified to IEC 61508, not components, so you can architect your system such that software under the control of FreeRTOS can’t do harm, or if it can do harm, the hazardous condition is detected by an external monitor in order for the system to be placed in a safe state.

I am aware of FreeRTOS’s use in many safety related systems, from syringe pumps to automotive ECUs to aircraft navigation - but these folk don’t share how they achieved that (through system design, or through a rigorous design/documentation/test process as per SafeRTOS).

You will see safety appears on our roadmap, so I’m interested in your use case. You can contact me on r dot barry at freertos dot org.