LwIP configuration recommendations

I am relatively new to FreeRTOS and LwIP. We began working with it just recently (before we used Keil environment). So I am looking for any advice (tips, considerations) what values to specify for all the “MBOX” sizes - particularly values of TCPIP_MBOX_SIZE, DEFAULT_RAW_RECVMBOX_SIZE, DEFAULT_UDP_RECVMBOX_SIZE, DEFAULT_TCP_RECVMBOX_SIZE, and DEFAULT_ACCEPTMBOX_SIZE. We will be using BSD (socket) API and we will be using mostly TCP connections, but some UDP as well. We may have up to 10 (absolutely worst case scenario) connections open at the same time. But the data rate will be relatively low (at most 1MB/sec).
Any advices will be really appreciated.
Thank you very much.

Not an answer to your question - but have you tried the lwIP mailing list? The lwIP experts there might be able to give better advice.

Thank you very much Richard,

I was thinking about posting the same question on LwIP mailing list and decided that LwIP is probably mostly used these days with FreeRTOS and FreeRTOS forum can reach much more people. And using LwIP with FreeRTOS has quite a bit of specific, particularly related to FreeRTOS memory handling. But I can post my question on LwIP mailing list just as well.

Thank you for the advice,
Michael.

In that case, you might as well consider using FreeRTOS+TCP.

Here is the FreeRTOS+TCP main page.

There is also a tutorial.

You can see a list of drivers here. Some other drivers are not yet uploaded.

If you have any more questions, you can ask them in this forum thread.

The good thing about FreeRTOS+TCP is that it is built “on top of” the FreeRTOS kernel. It uses many of its features, like queue, semaphores, event groups and heap functions.

+TCP runs a separate task, the “IP-task”, which handles all API calls from the application.

What kind of platform (CPU) are you thinking of?

Thank you very much for answering.