ulTaskNotifyTake/xTaskNotifyGive blocks in an unexpected way (with lwip_recvfrom)

Hi,

I am new to FreeRTOS and trying to get a quite simple setup working. I have two custom tasks, one that listens to UDP packets and one that transmits UDP packets. When I get a UDP packet, I will do some trivial processing and then notify the transmission task to send something back. For now it just sends three constant bytes of data.

The RX task basically does this:

for (;;) {
  count = lwip_recvfrom(sock, recv_buf, sizeof(recv_buf), 0,
                        (struct sockaddr *)&from, &socklen);
  /* Some processing here... */
  xTaskNotifyGive(g_notify_task);
}

And the TX task:

for (;;) {
  ulTaskNotifyTake(pdTRUE, portMAX_DELAY);
  count = lwip_sendto(sock, send_buf, sizeof(send_buf), 0,
					     (struct sockaddr *)&addr, len);
}

Both tasks are created with the same priority. This works just fine for the first UDP-packet received, the TX-task is awoken and sends a single UDP packet out. But as the next UDP-packet arrives, the RX-task seems to be blocking on lwip_recvfrom(), and the TX-task is blocking on ulTaskNotifyTake(), neither waking up again. The packets are coming in at a rate of about 1 per second. However if I comment out lwip_sendto() from the TX-task (or simply use some invalid input argument as I did by mistake so that it fails to send), the TX-task wakes up for every UDP-packet received. I have a feeling that I am missing something obvious here.

For me this sounds like a symptom of a data corruption probably caused by a stack overflow in the TX task by running through lwip_sendto.
Did you define configASSERT and also enable stack overflow checking for development/debugging to catch possible fatal errors or data corruptions ?
What are the stack sizes of your tasks ?