System tick is not triggerred

brakova wrote on Friday, October 28, 2011:

Hi,

I am new to FreeRTOS so sorry if that is a stupid question but I really want to figure this out…

I have an IAR program originally written for Cortex M3 using Stellaris. I got it from the source code with the FreeRTOS book - A practical guide. As I don’t have the device I want to debug the program with the Simulator. I changed the progect options and everything compiles.

The BIG problem is that the xPortSysTickHandler located in startup_ewarm.c is never called… I think it should be called with every system tick. I have no idea why this happens…
The FreeRTOSConfig.h looks ok - it includes:

/* Use the system definition, if there is one */
#ifdef __NVIC_PRIO_BITS
#define configPRIO_BITS       __NVIC_PRIO_BITS
#else
#define configPRIO_BITS       5        /* 32 priority levels */
#endif

/* The lowest priority. */
#define configKERNEL_INTERRUPT_PRIORITY ( 31 << (8 - configPRIO_BITS) )
/* Priority 5, or 160 as only the top three bits are implemented. */
#define configMAX_SYSCALL_INTERRUPT_PRIORITY ( 5 << (8 - configPRIO_BITS) )

I suppose that there is some issue with the demo… running with the IAR simulator but I have no idea what should I change. Any advice will be much helpful :slight_smile:

Thanks very much!

woops_ wrote on Friday, October 28, 2011:

Look up ‘interrupt simulation’ in the debuug ewarm_debuggingguide.enu.pdf. You must use the menus in cspy to setup that up. Else it is just an instruction simulator.

Hi,

Thanks! This tutorial surely explains a lot.
Do you know which are the Interrupts that the FreeRTOS needs and what are their right configuration elements?

I think that I’ll need to add the SysTick and the PendSV interrupts but I’m not sure what should be the First activation and Repeat interval parameters?

But aren’t these interrupts from the core itself…. or should I configure them explicitly?

rtel wrote on Friday, October 28, 2011: