Pyhton on Free RTOS

Hello there!

I’m studying Aerospace Technology and I’m going to start my final thesis soon. My topic is the coding of a program that will gather data from an experiment on a satellite.
My supervisor plans to use an onboard computer (OBC) that runs Free RTOS and is supposed to communicate with the computer of the satellite.
My assignment is to enable the OBC to run Python code (as I am way more familiar with Python than with C) and to write the actual code that deals with gathering and processing all the neccessary data coming from the experiment.
However, as I am completely new to anything concerning microcontrollers and/or operating systems, I don’t really know where to start. I’ve tried to read up on the topic with the “Hands on tutorial guide” but I don’t understand much. I then watched a video series on Youtube and I learned a few things but I still feel like I’m far away from any sort of breakthrough and that the whole topic might be too much for me to know about in the context of a final thesis. Especially since I feel like I don’t really need to know the ins and outs of an embedded system but rather only how to get Python running.
So, having said all that, I guess my main question is: is there any way to have Python run on Free RTOS and if so, how can I achieve this?

Thanks in advance for any reply!

Hi @Viktor,

This is not my area of expertise at all to be honest, but I would start here…

I hope that helps…

Kind Regards,

Pete

I think that application sits at the bare metal layer, so doesn’t give ‘room’ for FreeRTOS beside it (but maybe there would be a way to make it work)

Another resource (perhaps combined with the above) would be: https://docs.python.org/3/extending/embedding.html

Which talks about adding python as in interpreter to an existing program, which is more what you seem to want (but likely you would want that stripped down MicroPython to help it fit)