Missing library? Issue when compiling a new FreeRTOS project

Hello all,

I am new in FreeRTOS and currently trying to implement my first project. I have followed the basic guidelines about the files tree setup, but when compiling I get an error that seems to be associated with the linker. Specifically, despite of including the “task.h” file, as well as it being part of the project, for some reason the xTaskCreate() function is not recognized. The question is, there is any specific library that need to be added to the linker path? I am using the latest version of CCS v12 (TI) and the target is the Tiva C’s TM4C123GH6PM processor.

Thanks.

Have you included the source code for FreeRTOS in your project?

Yes, all the files I am aware of are included.

I had this same problem before. It was resolved by including a CCS library in the search path for the linker. But I am not aware of a similar type of file for FreeRTOS, beyond the sources and headers in the package, which are included as seen above.

It’s probably not the problem, because when the #include “task.h” line is commented out, the implicit error message appears, which shows the compilation reads this file.

Hi @Reuven,
Could you share your FreeRTOSConfig.h?
This function is wrapped by configuration – configSUPPORT_DYNAMIC_ALLOCATION.

Please refer to task.h.

Thanks.

Here it is the complete file in three parts:

Checked that macro, it should be ok if set to ‘1’

Sorry that I missed this figure.
Could you help to check if all source files are compiled in your project?
From the figure, these source files in FreeRTOS/Source are under includes folder.
I’m not sure if they’re compiled in this IDE.

Thanks.

I guess the IDE / the generated project doesn’t compile the FreeRTOS sources like task.c because they are added as ‘Includes’ ? Is there a ‘Source’ node where you can add the source files ? It should be documented for this IDE howto setup a project correctly.