How to work properly with the FreeRTOS codebase?

Hello,

I’m a student that is going to write a bachelor thesis about RTOS.
Part of the thesis concerns FreeRTOS and I would like to do some little experiments with the FreeRTOS codebase, by adding some APIs, modifying existing implementation, all possibly in a backward-compatible manner.
Since I want to ensure backward-compatibility, the obvious thing to do is to make sure to not break any existing tests.
But I’m having a hard time figuring out how the FreeRTOS code base is tested.
Specifically, I only care about tests concerning the “common code”, since I think I’ll be playing only with that.
I’ve read FreeRTOS - Free RTOS Coding Standard and Style Guide, but didn’t find much specific information. In particular, I didn’t really understand

The standard demo/test files attempt to provide ‘branch’ test coverage

To which files does “standard demo/test files” refer to?
I’m aware of the Demo folder (https://github.com/FreeRTOS/FreeRTOS/tree/master/FreeRTOS/Demo), but AFAIK these are all platform-specific demos and I don’t think that these represent the tests for the common code, which I would expect to be runnable directly on the PC (also for purpose of Continuous Integration).

I’ve found the Test folder (https://github.com/FreeRTOS/FreeRTOS/tree/master/FreeRTOS/Test) in the FreeRTOS repository, but only the CMock folder contains a few tests, in the traditional sense of test. The other two folders contain formal proofs.
Can you confirm me that these are all the means FreeRTOS is tested with? I.e. a few tests and two kinds of formal proofs.