Footprint: concrete figures

rbornet wrote on Friday, June 11, 2010:

Hi FreeRTOS fans

I’m a swiss embedded sw engineer and I’m working on a research project for developing new kinds of medical devices for drug monitoring and delivering (http://www.nano-tera.ch/projects/405.php). For this project we will work with a new 32-bits ultra low-power processor/SoC developed at http://www.csem.ch. The chip does not implement any known architecture but resembles the Coldfire/68K architecture in many aspects. I will have to port a RTOS to this chip and googling around I came across FreeRTOS which seems to be an ideal candidate for the targeted application.

Before attempting any porting effort I would like to have some points regarding footprint/memory usage cleared to be sure the whole thing would fit in with my reduced resources. The chip we will use has 48KB RAM + 48 KB ROM.

On http://www.freertos.org/FAQMem.html I read that a typical FreeRTOS configuration requires ~4KB ROM and some key figures on RAM usage. I also found different reference figures on the web for different architectures/compilers combinations but most of the time the measurements are made with the demo application/s which is a good reference but still not a complete system. Would some forum’s members have figures for concrete/production applications ? It would be nice to have some key figures with basic project/system information e.g. “Medical device application (infusion pump): …KB ROM + max … RAM”, “Automation (motor controller): … KB ROM + … RAM”.

My intent is really to clarify if FreeRTOS could be used for our project or if our resources are too limited…
I originally come from another embedded systems’ world where I had GHz PowerPCs and hundreds MB of RAM and dealing with my new CPU running at 3.2 MHz and with strong memory constraints is a big challenge. :slight_smile:

rtel wrote on Friday, June 11, 2010: