Amazon FreeRTOS porting: mbedTLS handshake failure (hang)

lesudu wrote on May 29, 2018:

I am porting AFR to ATSAM4E from Atmel.

I simulated Amazon FreeRTOS with windows simulator by generating the key-certificate pair with AWS IoT. And I am using the same Key-certificate pair in the application code in the hardware.

During mbedtls_ssl_handshake(), the code hangs in client_hello() step. I went through code (step over), and I can see that sometimes it hangs while selecting a cipher, or sometimes in MBED_TLS_HELLO case in ssl_cli.c which is basically pointing to another state. I have also observed that, sometimes it hangs in random functions. I am not able to find the exact cause.

I ran out of ways to debug the code. Also, I have very little experience in embedded security.

FYI, I am using all new version AFR libraries (1.2.6). Currently using SD card to read-write credentials and EEPROM for the entropy generation.

Kindly suggest a solution.

Regards,
Sudarshan Bhat

Edited by: lesudu on May 29, 2018 4:43 PM

SarenaAtAws wrote on May 29, 2018:

Hello Sudarshan Bhat,

I see that you have mentioned that your entropy source is the EEPROM here, so I have also now noticed you mentioned that in your other thread as well. Is your entropy source working as expected?
Each port using pkcs11 with mbedtls needs to have +mbedtls_hardware_poll+ defined correctly. If this function is not setup correctly, then we may have some undesired behavior. For example, if the same random number is provided each time, or each time the device is reset, then the “randomly” generated sequence number for the TCP/IP connection will be reused. This may cause the server to think that the current session is the same as before. The server will then return an error that the socket has already been closed.

Let us know if this helps.

Thanks,
Sarena

lesudu wrote on May 30, 2018:

Hello,