xQueueReceive() blocks endlessly

harlekin_666 wrote on Monday, December 03, 2007:

Hi!
I am new to FreeRTOS and try to make my first steps with version 4.6.1. I started with the demo application for Coldfire MCF5235 and ported it to my MCF52235. I am using the latest GCC distribution from codesourcery.com (since they have some good patches for coldfire GCC).
The demo application works good. Except if I start all tasks, but I think this is because the 52235 has only 16k RAM. I will find out later. More confusing is something else. I started an own task, which does

while (1) {
  signed portCHAR inchar;

if ( xSerialGetChar( xSTDComPort0, &inchar, 10 ) == pdTRUE ) {
    xSerialPutChar( xSTDComPort0, inchar, 10 );
  }
}

Perhaps you all know the demo applications, but if not: the xSerialGetChar just calls an xQueueReceive() for the receive buffer. This buffer is filled from the UART interrupt. Using the timeouts like above (the 10), everything is fine and the application works and gives me an echo on the serial line. But with timeouts set to null - which should wait AFAIK really untill there is something in the buffer - I get only one character. That means the xQueueReceive() works for the first time, but starts blocking endlessly the second time.

Can anybody give me a hint what is wrong here? Can something be wrong with my port? Or is there a bug in the serial.c of the demo application or in FreeRTOS?

Thank you in advance,

Kay

davedoors wrote on Monday, December 03, 2007:

Are the other tasks still running ok?  Can you confirm that the tick interrupt is still running?  If the tick stops then you will not unblock.