Variable length message being stored in a Queue

paulgigliotti wrote on Friday, February 03, 2017:

I have set up my queue to pass message packets around the system. The maximum message size is 1024, but most messages will be much smaller. The first two bytes in the packet contain the message length. I would like to be able to add a parameter to the Queue send, PacketLength. When calling QueueSend with NULL in this position, it would behave as it does now, else it would move PacketLength bytes of date into the that queue location, leaving the last (1024 minus PacketLength) uninitialized. I would then have modified QueueRecieve, lets say QueueRecieveModified, that when called would use the first two byte in the queue being read to tell it how many bytes to move out or the queue into the destination address.

Or does something llike this exist - I am new to all of this.

rtel wrote on Friday, February 03, 2017:

See the “Working with Large or Variable Sized Data” section in the book.
http://www.freertos.org/Documentation/RTOS_book.html

paulgigliotti wrote on Saturday, February 04, 2017:

I foujnd this comment - Variable sized messages can be sent by defining queues to hold structures that contain a member that points to the queued message, and another member that holds the size of the queued message.

I am not sure which book you are referring to with the “Working with Large or Variable Sized Data” section…

rtel wrote on Saturday, February 04, 2017:

I am not sure which book you are referring to with the “Working with
Large or Variable Sized Data” section…

Did you see the link in my last post?

paulgigliotti wrote on Tuesday, February 07, 2017:

Yes, I did. I clicked on the link and see nothing about “Working with Large or Variable Sized Data” on that page.

paulgigliotti wrote on Tuesday, February 07, 2017: