Using the queue with C++ classes

Hi,

I am kinda new to C++ and FreeRTOS and have some struggles with bridging C to C++. I cant get my head around C linkage and C++ name mangling.

I want to encapsulate the queue and task handle inside a class so I can create multiple Instances of this class.

I did a research and found out that POD-Classes are one way to achieve the kind of behaviour I want. But I do not like the idea of stuffing a whole class into one abstraction layer (public). This feels bad to me and makes things complicated to comprehend. At least to me. Furthermore I want to use C++ features like virtual functions, inheritance and so on. This would not be possible with POD-Classes (as far I know).

Would it work to pass a pointer to a c-linked variable like so:

:warning: Code beneath is pseudo code. It should give you the idea what I want to achieve but may contain mistakes :warning:

class MyClass
{
private:
	TaskHandle_t** handle;
	QueueHandle_t* queue;

public:
	MyClass(char* const task_name, UBaseType_t priority, TaskHandle_t** handle, QueueHandle_t* queue);

[...]
}

MyClass::MyClass(char* const task_name, UBaseType_t priority, TaskHandle_t** handle, QueueHandle_t* queue)
{
	xTaskCreate(call_task, task_name, 400, this, priority, *this->handle);
	*this->queue = xQueueCreate(2, sizeof (int));
}

int main(void){
	/*as far as I know static is a pendant to 'extern "C"' correct me if I am wrong*/
	static TaskHandle_t* myHandle;
	static QueueHandle_t myQueue;

MyClass("My task name", tskIDLE_PRIORITY, &myHandle, &myQueue)
	[...]
}

Is this the way? This way it would be possible to use virtual methods and all those features not available inside a POD class, wouldn’t it?

Is this a considerable method to achieve this kind of behavaior or is there another easier way I am just not aware of?

Thanks for you answers and reading my question