UART Interrupts in FreeRTOS

Hi everyone,
I am a newbie to FreeRTOS and I am trying to implement communication using UART on my zcu104 board.
I implemented an infinite loop in my main thread to listen for a flag raised by an interrupt handler. It works fine.
When I placed the loop after the schedular, it stopped working.
I found that inside the schedular function it has a function called “portDISABLE_INTERRUPTS()”, above it the following comment:

“Interrupts are turned off here, to ensure a tick does not occur
before or during the call to xPortStartScheduler(). The stacks of
the created tasks contain a status word with interrupts switched on
so interrupts will automatically get re-enabled when the first task
starts to run.”

I created a task as suggested in the comment and it still not working.
I tried to find out if there are any priority issues and it seems that the interrupts have a higher priority than my task as it should.

What am I missing?

Thank you.

If I understand correctly you are saying that interrupts are working before the scheduler starts (up to the point where a FreeRTOS API function is called, after which they are deliberately left disabled), but don’t work after the scheduler has started.

It is possible that the interrupt controller is reset as the scheduler is started. Try installing and enabling the UART interrupt from a task after the scheduler has started.

1 Like

I remember at least at one time the code that xylinx provided for their BSP totally reset the Interrupt controller in the initialize the tick routine, so that any interrupt configure prior to that point were lost. Its been a while since I worked on that code so I am not sure of the details, but like many vender provided code bases, you need to double check them. I seem to remember needing to extract out the interrupt control reconfigure code and make all the code use the same version of the interface to avoid the issue.

1 Like