Task handle crash

Hi all, I am new to FreeRTOS. I am using the xTaskNotifyWait() in the main task. the other task sends xTaskNotify() 1 time per second. I want to make sure the main task is running correctly. I use global var. to store and share the task handle after creation. The strangest is the notification can execute only once. First of all, I guess this is the issue about how I use the xTaskNotify()/xTaskNotifyWait(). Finally, I found the issue is the global var. was been changed. I had to make sure only the creation was written to this global var. I try to using xTaskGetHandle() to get once, it seems correct. This looks like the workaround. But I use the same method in ISR and xTaskGetHandle() seems can’t be called in ISR. What can I do? The task handle global var. can’t be trusted, the API can’t call from ISR. Any suggestion?

STM32Cube MCU Package: 1.17.0
Platform: STM32L412
FreeRTOS version: 10.3.1
CMSIS API: v1

This is the problem to focus on. You won’t be able to make a meaningful program if you can’t trust your variables. One common cause of corrupt globals is stack overflow. Can you try increasing the size of the task’s stack and see what happens? Another sticky point for ARM Cortex MCUs is interrupt configuration. Is STM32Cube giving you any warnings during code generation?

Hi Jeff, thanks for your help. I double the size of the stack, now is 256(default was 128). It seems okay in the beginning, but after I execute few actions then it happens again. I think this is not the root cause. In fact, I didn’t implement so many features in the task. Another strange point is, I move the task function inside of freertos.c everything goes fine. But if I move the task function to the other c file, then it crashed. OMG!!
By the way, I didn’t see any warning message during the code generate.

I strongly recommend to define configASSERT and also enable stack overflow checking for development/debugging. It helps a lot !