Sys_tick timestamp

Hi there,

I am new to FreeRTOS and I am trying to create a timer to count every 10 nanoseconds.
The timer will be used as the system’s timestamp.
I am not sure where to begin.
I found, in the BSP settings, that the kernel tick_rate is 100 ticks per second (10 millisecond which is too slow for me and I can’t change it) so I can’t use the xTaskGetTickCount() function.
I’m afraid that adding interrupts will burden the system if it ticks in high frequency because I also have high-priority interrupts already that can’t be interfered.
I wanted to activate another TTC and use it but the BSP throws an error:

“”"
Error occurred while generating bsp sources for the domain ‘domain_psu_cortexr5_0’.
Failed to generate the bsp sources for domain.domain_psu_cortexr5_0

Details: ERROR: Cannot select multiple timers for tick generation

ERROR: [Hsi 55-1545] Problem running tcl command ::sw_freertos10_xilinx_v1_6::generate : mdt_error
(procedure “::sw_freertos10_xilinx_v1_6::generate” line 1)
invoked from within
“::sw_freertos10_xilinx_v1_6::generate freertos10_xilinx”

ERROR: [Hsi 55-1442] Error(s) while running TCL procedure generate()
“”"

How should I implement this timestamp?

BR

You DON’T want a timer that interrupts every 10 nanoseconds, or that will be way too fast for the system to process.

That also means you can’t use a timer with a resolution of 10 ns as a system tick (to try to make delays accurate to a 10 ns resolution).

If you have a 100 MHz clock in your system, you can build a clock that you can read to get a 10ns resolution time stamp, it just won’t be the ‘system time stamp’ that the tick is based on.