Superfluous instruction in MPLAB port

nobody wrote on Tuesday, July 18, 2006:

Hi,

I studied the context save and restore routines and noticed that 1 byte too much is saved for the MATH_DATA and .tmpdata sections. Also the stack initialisation is 1 byte too long.

If portCOMPILER_MANAGED_MEMORY_SIZE is 0x13 as in the default/demo, 19 bytes should be saved.
(I assume MATH_DATA plus .tmpdata sections are 19 bytes long)
The initialisation loop runs 20 times however (from 0 to (and including) 19).
The save_context routine uses
MOVFF    POSTINC0, PREINC1
to save the first 19 bytes (at adresses 0 to 18), and then executes an additional
MOVFF    INDF0, PREINC1
to store adress 19 without incrementing the FSR0 register.

This is potentially harmful because the byte at adress 19 could be a global variable which is supposed to be changed by an other task, but restoring the old task context overwrites the new value.

Fix: if MATH_DATA plus tmpdata sections are 19 bytes long, documentation should state clearly that 18 MOVFF POSTINC0,PREINC1 and
1 MOVFF INDF0,PREINC1 instructions are required to save the sections.
The stack initialisation ‘for loop’ should also be changed to loop one time less or documentation should state that portCOMPILER_MANAGED_MEMORY_SIZE should be initialised 1 less.

Paul

rtel wrote on Tuesday, July 18, 2006:

It seems that everything *in the code* is consistent.  When the stack is created one more byte than portCOMPILER_MANAGED_MEMORY_SIZE is placed on the initial stack.  When the context is saved and restored the same is true.  The comment above the save context macro states that this is what is going to happen "This macro stores from data address 0x00 to portCOMPILER_MANAGED_MEMORY_SIZE" (so one more byte is saved).  Provided you are aware of the way the constant is used then I think it is ok.

It seems the inconsistent and problematic thing is the documentation, which does less than make you aware of how the constant is used.