STM32F429 with Canbus

Hello everyone,

I’m working on a project but my programming is becoming very complex. To divide the coding in smaller and more manageable pieces i would like to start using FreeRTOS. I have never used this before so i know i will have to learn a lot. My main concern is how should i use CANBus within freertos? Could somebody help me with some examples? Or just a basic RTOS example running on my specific micro controller(STM32F429ZIT)? I’ve already asked ST for some examples and searched trough the complete repository but i couldn’t find any example. I hope somebody here can help me to start using FreeRTOS. Thank you all

First you will want an interrupt driven CAN BUS driver (interrupt based drivers are basically essential when working in an RTOS). You then will typically create a task to handle receiving CAN BUS messages, decoding them, and sending out to other parts of the system notifications of the messages. This implies that you also need to partition the rest of your design into other tasks. I like to look at my system a create a task for each asynchronous input to the system (or possibly related groups of inputs).

This is so it can be event driven and therefore much more efficient. The interrupt that indicates the reception of a new CAN frame can wake a task that processes the frame - so the task never has to poll for CAN messages as anything that polls for something that is not there is wasting CPU time and power.

Thank you both for the feedback. Now everything makes more sense to me.
Are there any example projects available on how to use CANbus within freeRTOS?