Sam3x new SD driver

anonymous wrote on Monday, November 26, 2012:

I have been working with a SAM3X-ek and the new SD card driver that was just released in asf 3.5.  The included demo works fine but I am receiving “CMD55 Fail” errors when I try to use the sd card in Free RTOS.(timing error, my thought)  None of the Atmel guys have done any testing with FreeRTOS and the sd card driver so I was just wondering if anyone in the FreeRTOS community had tried this?

Thanks,
Seth

rtel wrote on Monday, November 26, 2012:

Not yet, but it is currently second on the list to do so.

Regards.

anonymous wrote on Wednesday, December 05, 2012:

I am new to FreeRTOS but is there anyway I can help?
Thanks,
Seth

anonymous wrote on Friday, December 07, 2012:

I have done some testing with getting creating a sd card program from scratch similar to the demo.  I figured out all of the various sd/fatfs compiler flags then I moved on to importing FreeRTOS.  Once the FreeRTOS_used flag is enabled,  f_open fails and throws a 3(FR_NOT_READY) error.  If the SD card debug flag is turned on then you can see that CMD 55 is failing.  I think this has to do with the Freertos timers that get enabled in the sd card driver once the flag is used but that is the extent of my knowledge/troubleshooting.

Hope that helps.
Seth

rtel wrote on Saturday, December 08, 2012:

On the SAM4X-EK I have been able to use the ASF wizard inside Atmel Studio 6 to create the FreeRTOS peripheral control demo, then use the ASF Wizard to bring in the MMC driver and file system server.  I had to uncomment a couple of items in the generated conf_example.h header file (generated by the ASF wizard) to enable the MMC if I recall correctly.  After that I was able to successfully read and write to an SD card from a task.