Receiving from a device without preventing other tasks to be executed

thyanger wrote on Friday, June 24, 2016:

Hi there,

I am deeply googling around to find some infos about how to organize my tasks in order to receive a data stream from a bus and then send these data to a remote device and a server. The troubles I am getting into, consist in tasks fighting each other: eg, so far there is a task in charge of receiving from the bus, another task has to initialize a 3G module (provide PIN, open network) and then login to the server, a third task is in charge to send the bus info to the remote device. Unfortunately, because of my poor design and knowledge, while the second task is trying to initialize the 3G, it is prevented by the others in transmitting/receiving to/from the module the initialization strings/acks. Each task works perfectly if alone. The fact is that I am not an expert in this field, so I am looking for good references, which I will be very thankful to whoever here around is going to suggest me. I know it is also matter on how priorities are given to the tasks, and I have also read http://www.freertos.org/tutorial/index.html. I have found a lot of info but none is giving me both the general idea and insight about the implementation

Thank you and regards.

richard_damon wrote on Friday, June 24, 2016:

The likely source of the problem is that your drivers are ‘spinning’ waiting for their device to do something and starving the other drivers of time. If the driver needs to wait for any significant time period, the driver should be enabling an interrupt to detect when the wait is over, and block on a syncronization primative until the interrupt occurs (the ISR will signal back to the driver task that the event happened).

Most sample code for running devices just does a spin loop waiting for the device, because it is simpler and often clearer. To multitask you really need to use interrupts.