Questions on the ARM ports context switches

julesrapanga wrote on Monday, October 27, 2008:

Hi,
    I’m trying to port FreeRTOS to the Nintendo DS and have been having some problems with starting and switching tasks. The STORE_CONTEXT and RESTORE_CONTEXT procedures that seems to be identical on most of the other ARM7/ARM9 ports don’t work for me, and although I’m a novice at all of this I’m not sure how they’re meant to work in the first place.

The first thing that I’d like to know is which processor mode the ARM is meant to be in when it starts the first task, as there is a line in it that writes the stacks value for the PSR to the SPSR. When I check it at runtime I seem to be in System mode, but since this has no SPSR I think this instruction causes problems.

I also don’t understand the last few lines of the RESTORE:

LDMFD    LR, {R0-R14}^
    NOP       
    LDR    LR, [LR, #+60]
    SUBS    PC, LR, #4

Specifically the second last line, as the value in LR is set in initialiseStack to 0xAAAAAAAA, I don’t see how this should provide the PC with the start of the first task.

Hopefully someone can help me understand this as my degree projet is resting on it.

Thanks in advance,
     Gordon Parke

jorick23 wrote on Tuesday, October 28, 2008:

The processor needs to be in Supervisor mode when it starts up.  Tasks run in System mode, but FreeRTOS must be in Supervisor mode when it starts so that it has the necessary privileges when controlling tasks.  After setting up the interrupt and abort stacks, the last lines of your stack setup code in the startup file should set up the supervisor stack and leave it in supervisor mode.

The first line of the restore, LDMFD LR, {R0-R14}^ restores the user mode registers from the task stack which the link register is pointing to.  The ^ specifies user registers rather than the registers of the current mode.