Question about using printf() / malloc() with heap_4 & newlib

Hello,

I’m just new to FreeRTOS. I was able to get it up and running on my environment (details below) by creating two simple tasks which output something to the UART. Depending on the UART speed settings etc I can force overlapping outputs which is good to learn how to synchronize/serialize the outputs by different approaches like critical sections, semaphore/mutex, streams, etc, etc. :slight_smile:

My goal is to port an application to FreeRTOS which uses a parser for imcoming UART data. The parser is called regularly in the main loop and, depending on the outgoing UART data also directly after the output because it’s needed to wait for the parsed data. The number of places where the parser has to be called separately grows as the application grows. So, this application is an ideal candidate for a RTOS, I think.

The application relies on printf() for output and uses malloc() directly etc. for some buffers. So I’ve read several sources about those topics. For the malloc’d buffers, I think I can replace them by queues or something similar. But for printf() and it’s internal usage of malloc() I’m not sure what’s exactly to do to get it up and running.

The environment is GCC 5.4 with newlib 2.4 (very old) on a Cypress/Infineon PSoC 5LP (Cortex-M3). The reason why I didn’t post in the Infineon/Cypress forum is because I don’t think my problem is specific to the manufacturer or device.

So I’ve some questions:

• According to “Mastering FreeRTOS” book printf() might fail if anything else than heap_3 is used which simply wraps the library malloc()/free(). But even if those wrappers are thread-safe, the printf() internal calls to malloc() are not thread-safe. Wouldn’t it be needed to call printf() within a critical section?