PSVPAG error PIC24FJ256DA210

fruitmans wrote on Wednesday, November 10, 2010:

I am trying to use the FreeRTOS kernel on the PIC24FJ256DA210 microcontroller from Microchip. When i select this device within the demo project and select the correct headerfile in FreeRTOS.h i get the following error.

port.c: In function ‘pxPortInitialiseStack’:
port.c:223: error: ‘PSVPAG’ undeclared (first use in this function)
port.c:223: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
port.c:223: error: for each function it appears in.)

I am pretty new to FreeRTOS so all the help i can get would be very helpfull.

Thanks in advance,

Rik Vugteveen

woops_ wrote on Wednesday, November 10, 2010:

The Microchip\MPLAB C30\support\PIC24F\h folder holds a header for each device individually in which PSVPAG is referenced. Are you including the header? It is normally inc from FreeRTOSconfig header.

richard_damon wrote on Wednesday, November 10, 2010:

It looks like that chip has a new feature (Extended Data Space) that may require a small change in the port to handle. It looks like the PSVPAG register becomes the DSWPAG and DSRPAG for EDS parts.

anonymous wrote on Friday, August 05, 2011:

A late reply, but here goes.

I had the same problem with a EDS pic device, a PIC24FJ256GB210.
I found a post on the microchip forum that dealt with the same issue: http://www.microchip.com/forums/m568144-print.aspx.

The suggested solution is to change the kernel code in a few places. In port.c under the portRESTORE_CONTEXT() macro, replace the line “POP PSVPAG” with POP “DSWPAG” and “POP DSRPAG”. The order of the pops is important!

In port.c under in the pxPortInitialiseStack function definition, replace the lines

*pxTopOfStack = PSVPAG; pxTopOfStack++;

with

*pxTopOfStack = DSRPAG; pxTopOfStack++; *pxTopOfStack = DSWPAG; pxTopOfStack++