Problem with deleting tasks using vTaskDelete();

Hello, I’m new in this comunity, so sorry for all mistakes (also language cause english it’s not my main language). I’m using ESP32.

I would like delete task using vTaskDelete(), but situation is:

1. My task run +/- 15 times - function eTaskGetState() returned value ‘2’
  2. Next time task will suspended - function eTaskGetState() returned value ‘4’
  3. I’m trying delete task if state = 4 and run it again but it isn’t working

This is my code: (I can’t put in all)

xTaskCreatePinnedToCore(turnOn_function, "turnOn_task", 10000, (void*)&currentmess, 1, &turnOn_task, 1);
        delay(350);
        if(eTaskGetState(turnOn_task) == 4)
        {
          Serial.print("STAN TURN_ON : ");
          Serial.println(eTaskGetState(turnOn_task));
          if(turnOn_task != NULL)
          {
            vTaskDelete(turnOn_task);
            delay(600);
            Serial.print("USUNIETO TURN_ON : ");
          }
          xTaskCreatePinnedToCore(turnOn_function, "turnOn_task", 10000, (void*)&currentmess, 1, &turnOn_task, 1);
          delay(350);
        }

Serial.print("WYKONANIE TURN_ON : ");

I will be really grateful for help :slight_smile:

What exactly is not working ?

One big issue that I see is once you call vTaskDelete(turnOn_task) you should not then use turnOn_task until you create the new task and put it into that variable. The call to eTaskGetState(turnOn_task) after the call to vTaskDelete is accessing freed memory, so is invalid.

If when it suspends itself you are just going to create it again, why not have it just in its own code go back to its beginning and wait for a new request?

After +/- 15 times task become suspended and I can’t run it again.

On serial port monitor:
Working:

WYKONANIE TURN_ON : 2
[0] get Text: #00ffff
F->65535

And next loop not working:

STAN TURN_ON : 4 // checking state before delete
USUNIETO TURN_ON : 4 // after delete
WYKONANIE TURN_ON : 4 // after run again