Problem: Impact of stack size on task behaviors

Problem: (STM32F103) I’m New to FreeRTOS. I have 5 tasks running: LED1, LED2, BinarySemaphoreSend, BinarySemaphoreReceive, QueueReceive. Symptoms: changing task stack sizes makes some tasks behave differently; sometimes when BinarySemaphoreReceive fails, the whole thing locks up, or caused LED1 to stop blinking, yet LED2 is still alive and blinking.

When calling the binary semaphore receive function immediately after sending (in any of the tasks), sending and receiving are always successful. But if send and receive actions are in different tasks, the receive fails and locks up LED1 task.

The debugging for the infinite loop type software would’ve been much more straight forward. Please let me know where I should look into to understand the very nature of the problem. Thank you in advance!

Make sure you have configASSERT defined in a way that halts the system on a problem, and enable stack overflow checking.

Your symptoms are of programs overwritting memory.

Thanks, I will check.

Sometimes the easiest way to get a system running is to make the stack much larger than necessary. Then you can use the vTaskGetInfo function to get the task statistics including the stack high water mark. With the task statistics, it is easy to optimize the stack level to what each task requires.

Hi Joseph, while keeping the LED1 and LED2 stack sized at 50, yes I once increased the remaining task stack sizes to 512 and ran into problems of tasks misbehaving or causing LED1 to freeze; and sometimes the whole thing just froze. And yet when I decreased the stack size from 512 to 64, it “solved” the problems and everything ran. That’s what baffled me because it appears to be against common sense.

Can you supply the source code? Another possible problem is concurrencies between the tasks, but that depends upon how your test code works.

Hi Joseph,