Printf("%lxip") in FreeRTOS+TCP

thomask wrote on Monday, August 06, 2018:

Hi!

I just saw that FreeRTOS+TCP uses a custom “%lxip” format specifier to print IP adresses.

This format is not supported by newlib, and I can’t use the recommended printf-stdarg.c from the FreeRTOS demos either (LGPL license :confused: ).

So I would like to change that to a more portable “%d.%d.%d.%d”.

Has anyone done this already?

Would you accept a patch?

best regards,
Thomas

heinbali01 wrote on Monday, August 06, 2018:

Hi Thomas,
The format “%lxip” is supported by the module “printf-stdarg.c”, which was included in the original FreeRTOS+TCP distribution on FreeRTOS Plus TCP - A free thread aware TCP/IP stack for FreeRTOS
If that module is not included, the statement will print as e.g. “C0A80101ip”, instead of “192.168.1.1”.

This format is not supported by newlib, and I can’t use the recommended
printf-stdarg.c from the FreeRTOS demos either (LGPL license :confused: ).

I am not an expert on licensing, but I think that “printf-stdarg.c” has the same MIT-type licence as the FreeRTOS+TCP library.

The idea is to use a macro like this:

#define FreeRTOS_ntohl_ip_to_printf_args(IP) \
    (int)(FreeRTOS_ntohl(IP) >> 24) & 255,      \
    (int)(FreeRTOS_ntohl(IP) >> 16) & 255,      \
    (int)(FreeRTOS_ntohl(IP) >>  8) & 255,      \
    (int)(FreeRTOS_ntohl(IP) >>  0) & 255

and substitute:

FreeRTOS_debug_printf( ( "vDHCPProcess: acked %lxip\n", FreeRTOS_ntohl( xDHCPData.ulOfferedIPAddress ) ) );

with:

FreeRTOS_printf( ( "vDHCPProcess: acked %d.%d.%d.%d\n", FreeRTOS_ntohl_ip_to_printf_args( xDHCPData.ulOfferedIPAddress ) ) );

I noticed that there are a lot of places, where ntohl() is missing, and sometimes it’s even mixed in the same printf() (see FreeRTOS_TCP_IP.c, line 1028):

FreeRTOS_debug_printf( ( "ARP for %lxip (using %lxip): rc=%d %02X:%02X:%02X %02X:%02X:%02X\n",
				pxSocket->u.xTCP.ulRemoteIP,
				FreeRTOS_ntohl( ulRemoteIP ),