Porting guide

nobody wrote on Monday, July 17, 2006:

I am currently using a Toshiba TCLS 900H processor with a custom built RTOS. Although this works well for the required application, I am about to move it to a M32/80 processor but the changes required are fairly complex as this was not written for portability.

It did occur to me that the freertos provides all the portability features I require but is available in neither configurations.  Is there a porting manual that would allow a fairly painless port to these processors.

I have over 30 years programming experience so the software is not a problem and I am even willing to provide the ports back to freertos.  I could do it by code inspection but it is ultimately quicker and less error prone if this documentation is available.

rtel wrote on Monday, July 17, 2006:

I suggest you start with the standard demo file flash.c.  This simply flashes LED.  To do this (rather random ordering in this list!):

i) Include FreeRTOS/demo/common/include in your project include path.
ii) Include the file FreeRTOS/demo/minimal/flash.c in your project.
iii) Find a main() file that calls vStartLEDFlashTasks(), use this as a basis.  Comment out all lines other than those required to setup the hardare, the call to vStartLEDFlashTasks() itself, and a call to vTaskStartScheduler().
iv) Include FreeRTOS/source/portable/memmang/heap_1.c in your project (as a minimum).
v) Include the three files from the FreeRTOS/source directory.  You won’t need to co-routine file.  These are the kernel files.
vi) Of coarse include the new port file in your build also.
vi) I suspect I’ve forgotten one or two things, but your linker warnings will let you know what.