PIC32 Release vs Debug problem

anonymous wrote on Monday, June 11, 2012:

I’m having a strange problem. I have an application that uses FreeRTOS and I’ve been building debug versions on MPLAB-X for a couple of months now. I switched to a release build today and the program builds but stops running after starting the scheduler. I’ve stripped out all of my code except the toggling of an LED when a queue times out in the main loop. There is now only one task running with a single queue. If I switch to a debug build, it works fine. It’s a newer processor from Microchip, the PIC32MX250F128D. I have another application for a different client that does not use FreeRTOS and it builds and deploys a release version with no problems. I have the Dotstack Bluetooth stack in the app that doesn’t work in release mode but I have it commented out for now. I know it’s probably something stupid that I’m missing but… I upgraded to the latest stable build of FreeRTOS, V 7.1.1 and that didn’t fix the problem.  I recently upgraded the compiler to the new xC32 compiler and have tried it and the 2.02 version of the C32 compiler and neither one works. Same symptoms, builds fine, stops after starting up the task scheduler.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance…

edwards3 wrote on Monday, June 11, 2012:

XC32 is GCC right? How far up did you crank the optimization? I have no direct experience of that particular compiler, but it is not uncommon for GCC to be overly optimistic at the top optimization levels. What happens if you optimize at O2? There will not be much difference between O2 and O3 in performance anyway.

rtel wrote on Monday, June 11, 2012:

I have just tried the following setup:

PIC32MX460
(X)C32 V2.02
Optimisation set to -Os
Release build
Standard FreeRTOS PIC32 demo running on an Explorer 16 board.

So far, everything is running without any errors being indicated…it has been running since about ten minutes after your post and is still running on the desk next to me now.