pcTaskGetName returns strange task name

Hello everyone!

I’ve set an alarm message that the device sends if one of the RTOS tasks has a low stack value (<50). That way I receive JSON with pairs “pcTaskGetName”: “uxTaskGetStackHighWaterMark”. And I periodically receive these messages:
{
“type”: “rtosInfo”,
“WatchDog”: “105”
“C”: “0”,

}
But the original name of the task that “C” in the message is “Leds”. After sending this JSON the system goes into a hard fault exception.

I’m a rookie with FreeRTOS, so I got no idea what leads to this behavior. I can just assume that smth goes wrong with TCB, somehow it got overwritten.
Can anyone lead me to find out what’s going on?

Reading your message: I recommend that you first do the testing with more than enough stack space for every task. That will allow you to measure the actual stack usage.
And after that, if you want, you can decrease the stack sizes because you know how much is actually needed.

2 Likes

Hi, thank you for the quick response!

I got a lot of RAM on the board, so I gave tasks a lot of stack. But in this case for the “Leds” task I can not see anything that can lead to zero remaining stack. In fact this behavior takes place randomly even after days that my boards are running. Do you suggest that some other task stack overflow can lead to this system behavior, and I should focus on inspecting other tasks flows?

If a stack has already overflowed then potentially you have already corrupted a task control block. An overflow should not corrupt the name of the task that overflowed its stack, but could corrupt the stack of a neighboring task in memory.

Can you step through the code to see what happen when you create the JSON doc? That should show whether the name really is corrupt, or if there is another issue.

1 Like

Hello, thank you for the response!

The following line of code implements writing to the buffer that would be sent as alarm message: