OTA Updates and bootloader

antm wrote on January 03, 2019:

Hi,

I’m quite new to AWS and aFreeRTOS, so any help would be appreciated.

Basically, I would like to better understand the mechanism for OTA updates. My end goal is to have an STM32 based device that can be upgraded OTA.

So, I assumed that a bootloader would be required for this… there is a reference bootloader provided by Amazon that can be ported.

I’m just a little confused about the responsibility of the bootloader vs the application when doing OTA updates. Normally I would have said that it is the responsibility of the bootloader to allow reprogramming, but maybe the idea is we can first store the updated binary at runtime and attempt to load it next time we reset.

My question is, is it intended that the code in the OTA demo should be located in the"Application" space of the device, or the bootloader space? I haven’t yet understood what should happen when an OTA job is set up… should the device be reset and put into bootloader mode, or handle the firmware download, then trigger a reset and let the bootloader handle the switch over?

I understand that the STM32 is not yet fully supported, so would need a bootloader and OTA port.

Apologies if this sounds a little confused, I am! but that’s OK :slight_smile:

Thanks

Ant

antm wrote on January 07, 2019:

DanG,

Thanks for taking the time to reply, your answer has cleared up a few things I was unsure about.

I’m glad that you suggested looking at the visual studio based simulator, because that is what I ended up starting on, once I have worked my way through that a bit more I can move on to the bootloader side.

In terms of the bootloader, I will need to understand how the STM32 dual bank flash works, it looks a little different to the Microchip part in that there is not a re-programmable “boot flash”… only a fixed bootloader (no good), but that is a different problem for a different day.

Thanks again

Ant

DanG-AWS wrote on January 07, 2019: