New to RTOS, understanding semaphore delays

marifca wrote on Wednesday, June 11, 2014:

Hi,

I am new to RTOS world. Starting with FreeRTOS. I am using Freescale Coldfire V2 microcontrollers and managed to start several tasks running on it. But I am a bit confused regarding the delay used in semaphores. I have an interrupt giving a semaphore using xSemaphoreGiveFromISR() and a task blocking this accepts it using xSemaphoreTake() as in the following example

// A task that uses the semaphore.
void vAnotherTask( void * pvParameters )
{
// … Do other things.

if( xSemaphore != NULL )
{
    // See if we can obtain the semaphore.  If the semaphore is not available
    // wait 10 ticks to see if it becomes free.	
    if( xSemaphoreTake( xSemaphore, ( TickType_t ) 10 ) == pdTRUE )
    {
        // We were able to obtain the semaphore and can now access the
        // shared resource.

// ..."My Code"

// We have finished accessing the shared resource.  Release the 
        // semaphore.
        xSemaphoreGive( xSemaphore );
    }
    else
    {
        // We could not obtain the semaphore and can therefore not access
        // the shared resource safely.
    }
}

}

My question is what does this ( TickType_t ) 10 actually means or doing here? What happens to the “My code” block in the following three cases:

1. xTicksToWait value is 0 … is “My code” executed with every tick? Then what is the the significance of giving the semaphore from an interrupt and an event tracking mechanism?
  2. xTicksToWait value is 10 …
  3. xTicksToWait value is MaxDelay (I guess 0xffffffff) and what is the difference in action between the used value of 0 and MaxDelay?

Also I would like to know what if I use

xSemaphoreTake( xSemaphore, ( TickType_t ) 10 );
//“My Code”