Mpu_wrappers.h not using priviledged functions for kernel as default?

Hi there,
just moving towards MPU usage with FreeRTOS.
As I am new to the whole MPU-world (not new to FreeRTOS btw), I am digging through all the files to get my linkerscript adopted and I found something that I can’t understand:

If I check in mpu_wrappers.h how the defines are mapped, I see per default that it looks like

/* Remove the privileged function macro, but keep the PRIVILEGED_DATA
 * macro so applications can place data in privileged access sections
 * (useful when using statically allocated objects). */
        #define PRIVILEGED_FUNCTION
        #define PRIVILEGED_DATA    __attribute__( ( section( "privileged_data" ) ) )
        #define FREERTOS_SYSTEM_CALL

Why would the kernel code not be mapped like it is done when one uses own wrappers?

#else /* MPU_WRAPPERS_INCLUDED_FROM_API_FILE */

/* Ensure API functions go in the privileged execution section. */
        #define PRIVILEGED_FUNCTION     __attribute__( ( section( "privileged_functions" ) ) )
        #define PRIVILEGED_DATA         __attribute__( ( section( "privileged_data" ) ) )
        #define FREERTOS_SYSTEM_CALL    __attribute__( ( section( "freertos_system_calls" ) ) )

#endif /* MPU_WRAPPERS_INCLUDED_FROM_API_FILE */

Or is the reason, that when using mpu_wrappers.h in default way, because of the wrapping, the protected functions are not visible to my non-priviledged task anyway, so there is no real need to hide them from unpriviledged tasks?

If my guess is right, does this mean, that I need the MPU primarily to protect RAM areas (and in my case, some IOs dedicated to certain tasks) ?

Not able to look at the file right now, but suspect this is because function names get remapped to the “MPU_” versions, but the name of the data does not get remapped so the attribute remains.