Message for John Westmooreland

rtel wrote on Wednesday, October 04, 2006:

John, I’m finding that emails to you are bouncing back after two to three days.  Can you send me your alternative address again as I’ve lost it.

In response to your SVN query, I tried a clean checkout and an update and both went through with no problems.  Maybe there was a fault at the SourceForge end that is now resolved?

Regards.

westmorelandeng wrote on Saturday, October 21, 2006:

Forum Community,

This issue is a bit of a mystery - when Richard sends me e-mail (UK to US) - he gets bounces - but when I send e-mail to him - he receives it.

I’ve discussed this ad nauseam with my ISP - is it possible that the SMTP server across the pond doesn’t like domain names that are 23 chars long?

Westmoreland (12) + Engineering (11) = 23 ???

Any SMTP server experts out there?

TIA,
John W.

neilbradley wrote on Saturday, October 21, 2006:

What’s the text of the bounce? I’m not an SMTP expert, but I do run my own SMTP server (synthcom.com). I’ve not heard of a “domain name too long” problem before. Maybe I can track it down. John, who is your ISP?

Neil,

This was one of the first things we looked at - Powweb claims no - definitely not on my accounts plus they claim not on any of their servers either… the only thing I could think of beyond this was maybe a box out there with an old version of something that rejected long domain names… not that makes sense really - but it was the only thing I could come up with after spending some time on this…

Thanks!
John

Ohh… I think I know what this is. Powweb has problems with some versions of sendmail and they had to fix ours when talking to me (synthcom). Hopefully this text will be helpful (if a bit long).

> I\x92m writing this in response to your inquiry (ticket # 1541831) about
> receiving bounce back message while sending e-mail to some addresses.
>
>
> The new PowWeb mail servers use SPF (Sender Policy Framework) for