Memset causes undefined instruction interrupt in SAMA5D27

Hi,

I am relatively new to FreeRTOS and embedded devices in general but I have been attempting to get ethernet communication with a SAMA5D27 dev board. I have been using MPLab libraries to set up FreeRTOS and it seems to be building correctly. Everything is initiating and I can create tasks but when vTaskStartScheduler() is called it causes it to jump to the undefined instructions interrupt handler and nothing ever actually runs. I traced through it with the debugger and it seems to always get stuck on this line in FreeRTOS_tasks.c:

memset( ( void * ) pxNewTCB, 0x00, sizeof( TCB_t ) );

Any advice on what could be causing this and what I can look into to figure out the cause?

Thanks

Do you have configASSERT defined (properly) ? This helps a lot during development.
(Along with that you should also enable stack checking.)

1 Like

I defined it for a debugger (as recommended here). When I run and pause it with the debugger it is always in the interrupt handler infinite loop:

void __attribute((weak, noreturn)) undefined_instruction_irq_handler (void)
{
    while(true)
    {
        /* Spin forever */
    }
}

Stack checking is also enabled (method 2)

apparently pxNewTCB points to an invalid memory location, for example 0 which may point to a previous allocation failure. As Hartmut points out, most of those cases can be found with configASSERT resolving to something meaningful.

Step through the memset() assembly code in the debugger to see if it is using floating point registers. Some memory set and move functions use the wide floating point registers as an optimisation. If it does use them, are you building FreeRTOS to include floating point support? If not, the floating point registers won’t be saved and restored with the task’s context, and can get corrupted.

Thank you for the advice!