Issue with TCP Echo Qemu mps2 Demo

Hi I am quite new to FreeRTOS here and am learning about it’s internals.
I am trying to run the Demo FreeRTOS_Plus_TCP_Echo_Qemu_mps2 with no modifications other than the information specific to my network. Trying to run the Demo as I want to build on it to simulate with MQTT on Qemu on linux. I’m currently running Ubuntu 21.10.
I’m finding that the application hangs after recieving an ARP response. After using the traceARP_PACKET_RECEIVED() and iptraceCREATING_ARP_REQUEST( ulIPAddress ) macros I can see that an ARP request goes out but none is received.
When using the Debugger it seems to end up in this function in defined in main.c:

void vAssertCalled( void )
{
    volatile unsigned long looping = 0;
    taskENTER_CRITICAL();
    {
        /* Use the debugger to set ul to a non-zero value in order to step out
                of this function to determine why it was called. */
        while( looping == 0LU )
        {
            portNOP();
        }
    }
    taskEXIT_CRITICAL();
}

After changing the while loop check to be
while( looping == 1LU )
the program seems to continue, the ARP response is received and a message is received on the echo server.
I’m not sure exactly what is causing this but I suspect it has something to do with task priorities.
vAssertCalled is called after a call to taskENTER_CRITICAL(); inside xQueueSemaphoreTake. I’d like to understand better for future reference.

Please provide a link to the assert that is failing. Here is an example of how to link to a line in github: https://github.com/FreeRTOS/FreeRTOS-Kernel/blob/V10.4.6/queue.c#L1507 - as you see from the URL, that is linking to line 1507, which is an assert in xQueueSemaphoreTake() - but it’s not inside a critical section.