How tor create a Makefile for linux port

Hi all,
I’m new to freertos forum and learning rtos. Long story somewhat shortened: I tried poking around on the TI website using TI-RTOS. But their document isn’t exactly for the newbie. But then I stumbled upon freertos and it’s opened up a whole new world! I’m really enjoying Richard Barry’s Tutorial Guide. It’s very informative, interesting, and easy to follow. I’ve been able to run a demo on my TI arm-based board (MSP432P4).

I would also like to run the Windows port, but my eyes glazed over at “download Visual Studio”. But hope sprung anew when I saw the MinGW port. Alas, again dashed, to a lesser extent - when I realized it’s really just another Windows port wrapped inside Eclipse. So I tried in vain running Eclpise to trying to create a Makefile from an existing project. Not much luck.

What I’d really like is a plain old Makefile so I can just run ‘make’ on the command line…either in UNIX (GNU-Linux) or cygwin…but, importantly, without any Windows dependencies like a cmd window widget thing.

So, to my questions: given my aversion to Windows, what do you think is the quickest path to running a linux-y purely command line port? Perhaps to modify a GCC make file from another port? Maybe export a makefile from Eclipse?

Thanks for the help…and for the great software,
Scott

LOL I think I just found my answer.
https://www.freertos.org/FreeRTOS-simulator-for-Linux.html.
I’m getting some compiler errors but maybe that’s another post:
PosixMessageQueueIPC.c:(.text+0x38): undefined reference to `mq_open’

-Scott

Hi Scott,

Thank you for your interest in FreeRTOS, i am sure you will enjoy it!

we actually do have a new linux port with networking supported, unfortunately the documentation is not quite there, it is on the way though.

you will need scons to build it, and a proper makefile is on the way as well