How to read/write external data flash, blocking or non-blocking?

I’m new in RTOS and want to use it in my project, and hope someone can give me some advice about how to design the firmware driver.

we have a nor flash that used to read/write user data.
When we want to write data(one page, 256Bytes) to flash, the process is

• Read the specified sector(4K Bytes) into buffer
  • Erase the sector
  • Modify the buffer and write it back to the sector

If we use a blocking function, it will be something like:

uint8_t sector_buf[4096];
void DataFlash_Write(uint32_t addr, uint8_t *data, uint16_t dataLen)
{
	while(DataFlash_IsBusy());	// Wait Data Flash ready to operate
	Nor_Flash_Read_Sector(sector_buf,addr);	// Read(backup) the sector into buffer
	while(DataFlash_IsBusy());
	Nor_Flash_Erase_Sector(addr);	// Erase this sector
	//-- Modify sector_buf
	Nor_Flash_Write_Sector(sector_buf,addr);	// Write Modified data back to the sector
}

If we use non-block function(FreeRTOS Task), it will be a large switch case(State Machine),
and then we can use xQueueSend(…) to read/write data

void DataFlash_Task(void)
{
    switch (dataFlashData.state)
    {
        case DATAFLASH_STATE_INIT:
        {
			// Do some init
            dataFlashData.state = DATAFLASH_STATE_WAIT_CMD;
        }
        case DATAFLASH_STATE_WAIT_CMD:
        {
			// Receive cmd from other
			xQueueReceive(dataFlashEvtQ, &data_flash_task_data.eventInfo, portMAX_DELAY);
			if (data_flash_task_data.eventInfo.type== cmd1)
			{
				dataFlashData.state = DATAFLASH_STATE_CMD1;
			} else if if (data_flash_task_data.eventInfo.type== cmd2)
			{
				dataFlashData.state = DATAFLASH_STATE_CMD2;
			}
			...// Other cmd cases
        }
		case DATAFLASH_STATE_READ_SECTOR:
		case DATAFLASH_STATE_ERASE_SECTOR:
		case DATAFLASH_STATE_WRITE_SECTOR:
		case DATAFLASH_STATE_READY:
		... // Other states
	}
}

We have many data types that need to save so we split falsh address into several range to operate,