Help in choosing an algorithm of actions

I need help in solving my problem more correctly.)
I want to transfer my project (based on STM32) to RTOS
The dilemma is that I have a function that controls outputs port at a certain time interval such as period, number of repetitions, time interval between repetitions.
The function measures the time interval of the STM32 internal timer and in accordance with this, controls the outputs, so the function itself is constantly polled in the main loop.
Now, instead of one main loop, I will have tasks and first of all I thought about creating a task that would poll a function (or several functions for different ports) every ms, but as far as I understand, 1 ms is not enough and It is recommended to set more time.
I’m new to RTOS, please advise what is the best way to proceed?

Your first issue is that you are describing this action as POLLING, which means the only way you know the action happened is to read an I/O to see that it happened. Polling is BAD in an RTOS environment. Instead, you want the action to create an interrupt when it happens, and then put the immediate response needed in an ISR, and perhaps the ISR could trigger a task to handle slower responses to that event.

I understand what you mean, but I don’t understand how to do it)
My function is related to a one timer that just ticks.
Perhaps I should have explained the functionality of my function better.
For example, I need to flash the LED five times with a period of 500ms and a pause of 1 minute and again.
I can’t do this kind of functionality simply on one RTOS software timer.
And in order to understand how much time has passed, I need to record the time in a variable and compare it with the time of the timer ticks.
I can create such functions for example at 10 different time intervals.
How do I inform the interrupt that the period time or interval time between periods has passed?