Hardware interrupt ISR "shared" variable

Hi!
I am quite new to FreeRTOS and I have a question that might be quite frequent.
So, I have a hardware interrupt that must read data from a shared buffer which is updated from a task.
Is there any shared resources protection I must do?
And even when the task is uploading data to the buffer many interrupts might occur.
What is the right approach?

Thank you!

The answer depends on the nature of the data and what the consequences are of the data being out-of-date or inconsistent.

• The application task can disable interrupts from the device while updating the buffer
  • The application can use a semaphore to ā€œlockā€ the data, the ISR can check the semaphore (no blocking) and when it is locked (that is, the application thread is writing) avoid reading from the buffer
  • The ISR can ignore what the application task is doing and simply read whatā€™s there, whether it is consistent or not
  • There can be two buffers with a toggle; the application task updates one buffer then inverts the toggle, the ISR reads from the buffer selected by the toggle; the task cannot preempt the ISR, and so long as the task only writes to the buffer not selected by the toggle, the ISR will never read from a partially updated buffer

I recommend the last of these, assuming you have the space; the others are non-optimal solutions, but work where there is insufficient memory for the dual-buffer solution.

Thank you a lot for the last answer!

The last option seems more interesting!

Based on my knowledge this means that the ISR does not cares if is going to be used in a FreeRTOS based system right? What I mean is, does not need to use primitives (functions) of FreeRTOS kernel, right?

So long as it does not cause a reschedule by making FreeRTOS calls, no, it need not know itā€™s running under FreeRTOS. I use this technique regularly.