Hard Fault encountered after vTaskStartScheduler is invoked

Hello there,

I am using Ozone debugger tool from Segger for my project. I am new to this tool and still in learning phase.

My project deals with ARM Cortex M4 + M0 (SOC) with hardware floating point enabled.
System uses FreeRTOS as the operating system. I am running into following issue at the start up. I instantiated 3 threads and start the scheduler and run into hard fault.

I have attached a screen shot above to indicate the exact line where the hard fault occurs (tasks.c, #2037 xPortStartScheduler( ) ) this is invoked from vTaskStartScheduler( ) API.

Please let me know what could be the reason. Below is the set up details.

Overall Settings

• Ozone version number : V3.28e

• Target Hardware : SOC (Cortex M4 + M0)

• Debug probe employed : J-Link Plus

• Operating System : FreeRTOS v10.1.1

• Host PC OS Version : Windows 10 Pro

Debug Probe Settings

• SWD

• 4MHz

• Host Interface : USB

• Program File Format : XXXX.axf (ARM)

Thank you in advance.

Can you put a breakpoint near the beginning of your task(s) to see if control is reaching them? With some debuggers, the hard fault only looks like it happens in xPortStartScheduler() but really is happening in a task.

Thanks @jefftenney.
I tired your suggestion, it doesn’t reach the beginning of any task.

OK, a few additional suggestions:

• Be sure configASSERT() is defined, and be sure you have a vApplicationMallocFailedHook() installed to catch out-of-memory and/or heap configuration errors.

• Check the priority of the SVC exception. See here.

• Does your FreeRTOSConfig.h have these lines:

#define vPortSVCHandler     SVC_Handler
#define xPortPendSVHandler  PendSV_Handler
#define xPortSysTickHandler SysTick_Handler
  • If all of that fails, can you step through the code and isolate the statement that is causing the hard fault? Note that you will need to put a breakpoint at the beginning of the vPortSVCHandler() to step into that function.