Getting started with FreeRTOS+ FAT SL

andheu wrote on Thursday, August 01, 2013:

Hi there

I’m hoping someone can give me some pointers with regards to setting up a FreeRTOS+ FAT SL file system. I’ve run the example that runs in the windows simulator and creates a volume in RAM. I’ve gone through all the code and understand the basics of whats going on with the port layer functions and the structures they use.

My problem is this. I want to set up a file system in flash memory (either on the on board flash in a mcu or a sd card) but I can’t see what I would change in the example to do this (i.e change from RAM to flash). It also seems that I will need to do more than just provide the port layer functions and config files as described here: http://www.freertos.org/FreeRTOS-Plus/FreeRTOS_Plus_FAT_SL/Download_FreeRTOS_Plus_FAT_SL.shtml. Or am I wrong?

Obviously I have no experience in this type of thing so even just being pointed to a resource on this topic would help.

Thanks

rtel wrote on Thursday, August 01, 2013:

As far as an interface to the file system is concerned, you do just have to provide the functions specified on the link you reference in your post.  How those functions are implemented depends on the media you are writing to (RAM, NAND flash, NOR flash, SD card, etc.) - so I think your question is related to media drivers rather than the file system itself?

The file system is provided with a RAM disk driver because it is extremely portable, and can be executed on anything that has sufficient RAM.  As soon as you move this to any other media it starts to get more application specific.

Taking an SD card as an example media, and F_WRITESECTOR() as an example function:

The RAM disk has a block of memory that is, in fact, just an array of RAM.  An SD card has a virtual block of memory that is on the SD card itself.