FreeRTOS+TCP: payload notification to Application

Hello community,

I am new to FreeRTOS and also +TCP. I have succeeded in porting for transmission messages from Application to ETH PHY by using FreeRTOS+TCP.

currently, I am working on receving path and have some doubts :slight_smile:

1. How to send/notify the received IP package and UDP/TCP/ARP payload from FreeRTOS+TCP to Application.
  2. Can I change TTL during runtime that depends on which state/purpose of each Application ?

Thanks for your attention and have a nice day!
TA.

Hi @CugTATr,
Welcome to FreeRTOS community!

FreeRTOS-Plus-TCP supports FreeRTOS_select() for users to get notifications. Or you can refer to ipconfigUSE_CALLBACKS, which provides callback approaches for applications.

Unfortunately, FreeRTOS-Plus-TCP doesn’t support TTL runtime configurations. For now, it uses build time comfigurations. Refer to TCP_IP_Configuration and search for “TIME_TO_LIVE”.

Thank you.

2 Likes

You wrote:

1. How to send/notify the received IP package and UDP/TCP/ARP payload from FreeRTOS+TCP to Application.

Have you used another TCP/IP stack already? FreeRTOS+TCP is mostly compatible, except the that API names start with FreeRTOS_, suck as FreeRTOS_sendto().

There are loads of examples, in which a “payload” is being sent or received.

You also mention ARP: that protocol is only used by the IP-task. Users rarely have to worry about that.

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback! I think ipconfigUSE_CALLBACKS is what I am looking for.

Thanks for your reply! I will take a look at your given link
At first when looking at [Hook/Callback API](https://www.freertos.org/FreeRTOS-Plus/FreeRTOS_Plus_TCP/API/eApplicationProcessCustomFrameHook.html) I did not find a callback for dedicated UDP or TCP.