FreeRTOS + TCP do-not-fragment flag

Hi All,
I’d like to check the opinion of the community on a change that I’d like to contribute. The change is to always set the DF bit for outgoing TCP packets.

Background:
I’ve been working with FreeRTOS+TCP and lwip for many years now. I mostly deal with industrial automation and PLCs. Over the years I’ve had a few incidents of other industrial equipment ( Allen Bradley ) not even look at the packets from my devices when the TCP packets had the DF bit clear. I know this is weird, but it’s annoying as hell.
Moreover, if I remember correctly, FreeRTOS+TCP does not support fragments, so my logical conclusion is to use the TCP’s flags to inform the other network devices, not to fragment their packets.
Lastly, I seem to remember that checksum offloading ( if used ) cannot work properly with fragments, and checksum offloading is quite desirable in any device.

My personal patches look like so:

#if( ipconfigFORCE_IP_DONT_FRAGMENT == 1 )
/* Force the DON’T FRAGMENT bit. We don’t handle incoming fragments, and the CRC offloading doesn’t work with fragments either. */
pxIPHeader->usFragmentOffset = 0x40;
#endif

and of course I’ve added the define in FreeRTOSIPConfig.h

the above patch is needed just in 3-4 places, so what do you guys/gals think? I’m willing to do a pull request for these simple changes if the community agrees it’s a good idea.

1 Like

IP fragmentation is not supported by FreeRTOS+TCP, so yes send a PR, even without the macro ipconfigFORCE_IP_DONT_FRAGMENT. But please change 0x40 with some macro that explains more.

We did not implement IP-fragmentation because it is rarely used, and also it makes the stack more vulnerable for attacks.

Got it,
This will be my first ever attempt to contribute to a github project so it will take me a bit to submit a proper pull request, but please bare with me :slight_smile:

Question 1:
Is there a consensus on how much we put emphasis on performance vs portable coding?