FreeRTOS on PIC32MX795 - Heap Stack issues

andrewfrazer wrote on Wednesday, March 16, 2016:

Hi, i’m very new to using RTOS , but have got some things working now, but have hit my first big hurdle. Certainly i expect that this is becuase i dont’ know somethign i need to.

I have use the tcp_server_example in that shipped with harmony and made some mofications to it . My issue came when i needed to use some large arrays, ( 12000 bytes or so )… My compiler complained and ater a bit of tracking things down, i found that the Heap had been set to 58368, which seemed very large So, i changed that down, the code compiled but it crashed out…

After some more reading an playing i found out that with a Heap size at least 50000 was needed to make it work. ( somehwere between 49500 and 5000 )… i was adjusting the heap size in teh linker…

The issue i have is that with the heap requiring so much space, i dont’ have much left in teh stack and not enough to hold the data that i am proccesing…

This all works in out of the box with a PIC-32MZ, that has lots of more memory obviously…

What in FreeRTOS is using all the RAM, and what ( if anythgn ) can i do to reduce how much it is using.?

rtel wrote on Wednesday, March 16, 2016:

Prior to FreeRTOS V9, FreeRTOS would allocate all objects from the heap. These are in the most part very small allocations, but the stacks used by tasks are also allocated from the heap, and those can be quite large. The first thing to do will be to determine if any tasks are being allocated a stack size that is much larger than necessary.

There is a FreeRTOS plug-in for MPLAB but I’m not sure if it shows the stack sizes. If not, you can use the uxTaskGetSystemState() API function.

It is also advisable to ensure you have stack overflow and malloc failed hooks defined in case you set the stack too small, or set the heap too small, respectively.