FreeRTOS ISR routine Handling , Callback Function

Hello,
I’m quite new to FREErtos. I am working with FREErtos via Xilinx SDK in a Zynq Ultrascale+ device (freertos10_xilinx). I am trying to make DMA communication. I have already instantiated correctly my own Interrupt Handler but my handler didn’t needed a callback routine function. From Xilinx’s examples , DMA Tx and Rx Interrupt Handlers have “a Callback pointer to the TX channel of the DMA engine” .
As far as I know it should be avoided running code in ISR .Thus , we call Semaphores ,Task Notifications etc… From that I understand that I should run the Callback function inside the Task called form ISR right?
In my previous custom Interrupt I successfully used vTaskNotifiGiveFromISR and everything was fine. But know, if I understand correctly I need to “pass” somehow the *Callback pointer to the Task that is responsible for the interrupt. How should I do that? Do I need to use a Queue to pass that pointer? Is it possible with TaskNotify API?

Sorry if my question is silly,
Thanks in advance,
Theo

You could use xTaskNotifyFromISR() with the eAction parameter set to eSetValueWithOverwrite and the ulValue parameter set to the pointer value. That will unblock the task and send it the pointer value in one go. There is a risk another interrupt occurs before the value has been read though, so the task that receives the notification should loop until it has processed all interrupts (it should not assume only one is pending).

Is the pointer value 32-bits or 64-bits? ulValue is only 32-bits so that might need to change to a size_t rather than a uint32_t.

1 Like

Hello @rtel ,
Thanks for the fast response. This is a CallbackRef pointer and it is void. Probably returning a pointer to a struct as I understand. Would it be a problem?