FreeRTOS is not working for STM32F103

bejanissim wrote on Sunday, December 14, 2008:

Dear All,

First, i’m new to FreeRTOS.

I’m using the STM3210E-EVAL board and i tried using both FreeRTOSV5.1.0 and FreeRTOSV5.1.1 versions.

I use the relevant demo project (CORTEX_STM32F103_IAR).

It seems that demo application is not working. I believe that the scheduler is not  functioning as it should and that is why no task is running.

Can someone can help me please?

Thanks. 

davedoors wrote on Sunday, December 14, 2008:

This forum is here to help, but cannot do anything unless you provide enough information as to what your problem is.

You are not using the same hardware as the demo. Did you have to make any changes to take this into account?

How far does the demo get through the code? What happens then?

Dear Dave,

First, let me thank you for your quick response.

As for the problem:
-------------------
I know i’m not using the same hardware but the STM32 uController is likley the same (there are minor differences which are not relevant for that matter).
I created a new project which is based on the demo one.

Through debuging the code i noticed the following:
--------------------------------------------------
vPortStartFirstTask() calls SVC to start the first task, but there is no code inside
SVCHandler ISR function. from this point the the system got stucked. No task is being handeled. I no this since i added breakpoint inside each task (basically i have 2 tasks besides the idle tasks).

attached the main function of my project:

int main(void)
{
  /* Initialize the JIG */
  JIG_SetupHardware();

/* Create the queue used by the LCD task. 
     Messages for display on the LCD are received via this queue. */
  psLCDQueue = xQueueCreate(LCD_QUEUE_SIZE, sizeof(LCD_MESSAGE));

/* Create the queue used by the Menu Managment task. 
     Messages for Menu Managment are received via this queue. */
  psKeyQueue = xQueueCreate(KEY_QUEUE_SIZE, sizeof(u8));