Find Offending Task that caused the Watchdog to Fire

I am relatively new to freeRTOS. I have a system consisting of several tasks. Each of them checks in with the watchdog tasks. The watchdog task periodically kicks the HW watchdog. Now, I have setup a timer interrupt that will fire just before the watchdog is about to fire. This can help in debugging watchdog issues. I want to know the offending task that is going to cause the watchdog timeout. There was some task that took a long time to run, thereby starving other tasks and not letting them checking in with the watchdog.

How do I figure out what the offending task might be?

You want to figure out which task did not kick the watchdog, right? If so, you need to keep track of which tasks kicked off the watchdog. One way to do that is to maintain a bitmap where each bit corresponds to a task. Each task sets a bit in the bitmap - the bit which is not set will tell you the offending task.

#define TASK_0_BIT ( 1 << 0 )
#define TASK_1_BIT ( 1 << 1 )
#define TASK_2_BIT ( 1 << 2 )
#define TASK_3_BIT ( 1 << 3 )
#define ALL_BITS ( TASK_0_BIT | TASK_1_BIT | TASK_2_BIT | TASK_3_BIT )

#define WATCHDOG_CHECK_PERIOD   pdMS_TO_TICKS( 5000 )

uint32_t bitmap = 0;

void task0( void * params )
{
    for( ;; )
    {
        /* Do the work. */

/* Set the flag. */
        taskENTER_CRITICAL();
        {
            bitmap != TASK_0_BIT;
        }
        taskEXIT_CRITICAL();
    }
}

/* task1, 2 and 3 do the same. */

void watchdogTask( void * params )
{
    for( ;; )
    {
        vTaskDelay( WATCHDOG_CHECK_PERIOD );

taskENTER_CRITICAL();
        {
            if( ( bitmap & ALL_BITS ) == ALL_BITS )
            {
                /* All tasks are running successfully. Kick
                 * off the HW watchdog. */
            }
            else
            {
                /* At least one task failed to kick the watch dog. Examine
                 * bitmap to find out the offending task. Forcing an assert here