+FAT: Optimization bug in ff_locking.c? xEventGroupGetBits has side effects?

I’m having problems with a Release build that defines NDEBUG, which was basically doing away with configASSERT:

#ifdef NDEBUG           /* required by ANSI standard */
# define configASSERT(__e) ((void)0)
#else
//...

A simple dir command resulted in
Error: ff_findfirst() failed.
followed by
FF_GetBuffer[0x5EC0]: failed mode 0x1

I started playing with variations of configASSERT macros and I found that if I use a version that allows the expression to have side effects*, the problem goes away. For example, this works fine:

#define assert_se(expr)     \
     do {                   \
        if (!(expr))        \
             { for( ;; ); } \
     } while (false)
#define configASSERT( x ) assert_se(x)

* See also: Examine ASSERT Statements

The problem seems to lie in ff_locking.c. There are a couple of calls like this:

void FF_UnlockDirectory( FF_IOManager_t *pxIOManager )
// ...
	configASSERT( ( xEventGroupGetBits( pxIOManager->xEventGroup ) & FF_DIR_LOCK_EVENT_BITS ) == 0 );
	xEventGroupSetBits( pxIOManager->xEventGroup, FF_DIR_LOCK_EVENT_BITS );
}

and

void FF_UnlockFAT( FF_IOManager_t *pxIOManager )
{
// ...
	configASSERT( ( xEventGroupGetBits( pxIOManager->xEventGroup ) & FF_FAT_LOCK_EVENT_BITS ) == 0 );
	pxIOManager->pvFATLockHandle = NULL;
	xEventGroupSetBits( pxIOManager->xEventGroup, FF_FAT_LOCK_EVENT_BITS );
}

Could xEventGroupGetBits( pxIOManager->xEventGroup ) be having side effects? It doesn’t look like it:

#define xEventGroupGetBits( xEventGroup ) xEventGroupClearBits( xEventGroup, 0 )

but I don’t know how else to explain what I’m seeing.

Everything works if I replace configASSERT in ff_locking.c with assert_se, but leave the optimized configASSERTs everywhere else.

EDIT: I’m compiling with:

arm-none-eabi-gcc.exe -mcpu=cortex-m4 -mfloat-abi=softfp -mfpu=fpv4-sp-d16 -mthumb 
 -I..\..\printf
 -I..\FreeRTOS\FreeRTOS\Source\include