Example using STM32F103 HAL_UART receive and transmit

Hi. I’m new to FreeRTOS. Since timing conditions and real time responsitivity were becoming crucial I turned to be using FreeRTOS.
I managed to setup a very rudimentary program for an STM32F103 (blue pill) under STM32CubeIDE.

Now I’m seeking for a code example that allows for reading one character from a UART Rx register and write it out to the same UART Tx register.

Is there a collection a sample code available somewhere? Thanks in advance.

Christoph

The simplest way to do that wouldn’t use FreeRTOS at all, but just an ISR.

The demo program provided with FreeRTOS do have code that has the ISR put the receive character into a Queue, and then a task read from the Queue, put it into another Queue and activate a transmit function.

Note, all the ISR part of that code will be VERY processor specific.

Queue is exactly what I’m aiming at. Other tasks like reading out ADC data continuously will have to be implemented also. I was fed up with all these delays() and timing constraints. Two UARTs will be acting later in the solution.

In a first consideration I thought not to use IRs at all. A task could polll the receive status bit and when there is no character available it just idles. When a character is available, it reads it and puts it in a ringbuffer. Another task looks whether tail != head (overflow conditions have to be processed) and gets the character, processes it and puts it into the Tx register. Tx empty bit must be polled and task could be released, when Tx busy.

NO. Do not have tasks poll and idle loop, that is the way to RTOS madness.

The whole concept of an RTOS is that tasks only run when they have work to do, at which point they automatically start (in priority order) and this requires ISR to be doing the work and triggering notifications.

The polling method basically just makes your whole program just one big loop task. Checking operations in order.