Exact steps to create a project in MPLAB without harmony

I’ve tried several times to create a project using freertos, but every time i get different errors ans problems. Is there any way to set up that project( including linkers, libraries…) that works always?
Im using a dspic33 but i’ve also tried other models and i get similar errors, i’m not experienced in microcontroller programming.
Thanks.

Hey @andreusenis and welcome to the FreeRTOS Community!
I see that you’re running into some issues with getting started using FreeRTOS with MPLAB. I was wondering if you had tried importing in the existing MPLAB demo located in FreeRTOS/FreeRTOS/Demo/dsPIC_MPLAB as a starting point?
I also did some searching and found an older forum post that you might find useful, which can be found here, as well as another blog post which seems to go over the necessary steps here.
If none of the above answers your questions, or if you’re still blocked, if you could let me know what compiler you’re using and what errors you’re seeing I could try and get a similar setup stood up. From there I can see if I can provide further assistance?

Can you say what the errors are - if we see the problem we may be able to suggest a solution.

My normal process is to use the tool to generate a non-FreeRTOS project, make sure that is working, then add in the required FreeRTOS source files. It isn’t necessary to alter the linker script (in the PIC24 case).

Once the files are building you can copy the main() of any of the demos in the main FreeRTOS download to create tasks and start the scheduler.

Let us know how far you get, and what the issue is next time you a blocked.

I just did the process that @rtel described above and I have 1 task running in the simulator.

1. Create a new MPLAB project
  2. navigate to the project folder and git clone freertos-kernel into this folder. (you could just copy the folder as well)