Debugging FreeRTOS with GDB on STM32F7

I am trying to debug a simple application based on an STM32F7 Nucleo. Right now I have 1 simple task which delays 1 second and blinks an LED. A bit about my setup:

Ubuntu 18.04
Visual Studio Code
Arm Embedded Toolchain
Cortex-Debug VSC extension

I have a freertos.c which contains the “blink” task. When I put a breakpoint on the GPIO Toggle call I expected it to toggle the GPIO, then delay the task and hit the break point again. Instead it just gets stuck on the Toggle and the gpio doensn’t change at all. I don’t know if there is some soft of fundamental FreeRTOS debugging lesson that I’m missing.

I would attach the project but the forum will not let me as I am new.

Unfortunately I have zero experience with debugging on a Linux host - but assume the host software is not relevant to the issue you are facing.

First some clarifications - you say:

So it doesn’t work when you put a break point on the GPIO toggle - does that mean the problem only occurs when you have a breakpoint set, and that if you run the application without the breakpoint the LED toggles as expected?

First note: I have experienced this same issue on a windows host with a separate STM32 project. This leads me to believe it could be an issue with the way STM32Cube exports a project? or something related to the project setup.

Yes, If I run the program normally or in debug the LED toggles as expected. When I place the breakpoint on the toggle, it hits the breakpoint as expected, but when i continue, the LED dow not toggle, and its as if the program is just stuck on that breakpoint.

I am using OpenOCD and GDB with a makefile. my .cfg file is as follows:

source [find interface/stlink-v2-1.cfg]

transport select hla_swd

source [find target/stm32f7x.cfg]

reset_config srst_only

launch.json as follows:

"name": "Cortex Debug",
"type": "cortex-debug",
"cwd": "${workspaceRoot}",
"servertype": "openocd",
"executable": "${workspaceRoot}/build/F7_Template.elf",